The Infinity Dreams Blog Award

wpid-infinitydreamsawardpic

I’m feeling really guilty for not having responded to the nomination for this award earlier. It was September 8th that the wonderful Izzy, at Izzy-grabs-life notified me, and  I replied that I’d get to it once I got back from Malta on September 19th. Well, it will be November next Sunday, and I think I’m just a bit late. So. many apologies, Izzy, and a huge (belated) thank you for nominating me. Izzy is a fantastic blogger and I’d recommend you to have a look at her blog.

thank-you-970920_1280

These are the rules for this award:

* Thank and follow the blog that nominated you

* Tell us 11 facts about you

* Answer the questions set up for you

* Nominate 11 people and make questions for them.

Now for 11 facts about me:

shutterstock_128368295

Having written so many facts about me on previous award posts, I’m rapidly running out of facts – ones that spring readily to mind, at least. So I’ll give my brain a shake up and see if it comes up with anything remotely interesting . . .

  1. I hate most seafood, other than fish, which I love. I have salmon and white fish several times a week. Shrimps and prawns remind me of snails (escargots) which I couldn’t eat in a million years, and the thought of oysters slithering down my throat just makes me shudder.
  2. I’m a perfectionist in most things I do. I keep at a ‘job’ until I’m absolutely satisfied it’s good enough (in my opinion).
  3. I love to bake – I mean specifically baking, as in cake and pie pie making etc. as opposed to cooking meals. I’ve always found baking very relaxing and quite often I’ll go and bake something if I’m feeling bored.
  4. I also love to knit and am used to being jokingly called ‘Granny Noblet’. It’s something I’ve enjoyed since I was four when my grandma taught me. Grandma did all the casting on at that stage, and I didn’t move on to purl stitch for a while. But by the time we were being taught to knit at school when I was about seven (as we were in the distant Dark Ages) I was  already quite a proficient knitter. Right now I’m feeling withdrawal symptoms, as knitting is on hold until I finish Book 3. Then I’ll have a knitting spree.
  5. I hate pink clothes. I haven’t any pink clothes at all, although I daresay pink might have crept into an odd pattern somewhere. On the other hand I love pink blossom on trees… and pink flowers in general. I just don’t want to go around looking like one.
  6. I have boxes and boxes full of both fridge magnets and thimbles stashed away in the loft. I started collecting them years ago from every place I visited, at home and abroad, and gave up a few years ago when I realised the futility of the exercise. I don’t want to throw them out, but they aren’t doing a great deal up in the loft!
  7. I love stories about Robin Hood – partly because we live so close to Sherwood Forest and Nottingham, where the stories were set. My favourite dramatisation of the stories was a 1980s TV series, aptly called ‘Robin of Sherwood’, written by Richard Carpenter. It had a wonderfully mythological and mystical feel, with characters like Herne the Hunter making the odd appearance. The ‘greenwood’ always reminded me of fresh, spring green, and the actors fitted the characters they were playing so well. My two daughters loved this series, too, and the eldest, Nicola, bought all the videos, and later on the DVD’s. I rarely watch anything twice, but some episodes of this series I’ve seen multiple times. No other series, and certainly none of the films, can compare to this version to me.
  8. My favourite colour is blue. It looks like the sky on a bright summer’s day, and the sea – not around British shores though. The Med. is where I have in mind.  Blue is such a ‘cool’ colour.
  9. In winter, I really love an open fire, or a wood/multi-fuel burner, in a room. A fireplace is such a central feature and gives a room a lovely cosy feel. Central heating has its place in other rooms, but in our lounge/living room I am thankful for our multi-fuel burner. We have huge stacks of logs outside from trees cut down by the farmer next door and others around the village.
  10. I hate shopping with a vehemence – and the closer we get to Christmas, the more I try to avoid going into town. ‘Town’, for us is either Newark or Lincoln. The traffic going into Lincoln, even before the beginning of December, is a nightmare – and parking is even worse.
  11. Like Izzy, I hate really high heels and wouldn’t consider wearing stilettos. I have my hiking boots for long walks in winter, and trainers for the rest of the year, and I love to wear sandals in hot weather – if we get any in Britain. When we’re abroad in hot places, sandals and flip-flops are a must. I don’t have wardrobes full of shoes, like some women. I have just boots, trainers and sandals, with the odd pair of what used to be called ‘court shoes’ – smarter shoes but not a really high heel. Killer heels just aren’t my style. Lol

Now for the 11 questions set by Izzy:

shutterstock_141264133

1.  What are you looking forward to (later today or this week)

Tomorrow we’re being invaded by my brother and his wife, along with their daughter (my niece, who is the same age as my eldest daughter) and her husband and two children. They’re over here from Runcorn for the week to stay in a lodge near Sherwood Forest – which they do every year during October half-term. So tomorrow it’s lots of catering to look forward to and I’ve been baking today in readiness. Then, at the weekend, my sister and her husband will be here, too. So, it’s family gatherings I’m looking forward to.

2.  What is the last book you read? Who would you recommend it to?

The last book I read was a while ago now, but it was called The Miniaturist by Jesse Burton, and I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys historical fiction. It’s set in Amsterdam in 1687 and has an added element of fantasy. I enjoyed it because it was a little different to most historical fiction I read.

3.  Are you a planner or a go-with-the-flower?

I generally like to plan things carefully, but am happy to go with the flow at times – like when we’re on holiday and so on. I plan my books carefully and ensure I’ve researched things thoroughly.

4.  Have you ever traveled?

I’ve done quite a lot of travelling but still have a very long list of places I’d like to visit. We love to travel around Britain, particularly during the summer, when there’s a chance of good weather! We often go into Wales and up to Scotland and the Isle of Man, as well as to various places in England.  We’ve visited several other countries over the years and here are some of them: France, Spain, Italy, Portugal, Denmark, Malta, Ireland (Eire), several Greek islands -including Crete, Corfu and Rhodes – Egypt, Tunisia, Kenya, Australia, Cuba and the Dominican Republic. The only place we have planned for next year at the moment is Italy again. We’ve been to Sorento, Sicily, and Aosta in the far north, but never to Rome or Venice. So next year that’s where we’ll head.

5.  Do you listen more than speak, or vice versa?

I do talk a lot, I admit that, but I’m a very good listener, too. As a teacher (and mother) I had to be.

6.  Would you rather lose an arm or a leg?

If that were an actual choice, I’d be very hard pushed to come to a decision. I’d really hate not being able to walk and losing a leg would be awful for me. I know you can get artificial/prosthetic legs, but still …  As for losing an arm, I don’t know how I’d cope without my right hand if I were to lose the right arm. I can do a lot of things with my left hand, but in many things, like writing, I’m very right-handed. And so many things in life need both hands and arms to do – simple things like tying shoe laces, and getting dressed on general. In reality, if we were to have an accident, or an illness that resulted in the need for amputation of leg or arm, we’d have to make the best of the situation.

7.  Do you have or want kids?

I always wanted children and ended up with six – although they’re certainly not ‘kids’ any more. The eldest is 42 and the youngest, 31. If I’d started earlier I would probably have had more. But in my day, when I was having my sixth child, I was considered an ‘older mother’ and didn’t particularly like that title.

8.  What is one thing your family/friends do that warms your heart?

I suppose the nicest thing that family and friends can do for me is to simply come and visit. I think it’s sad when families/friends drift apart and lose touch.  After having a house full of people for so many years, now that the children have all left home, it gets quite lonely – and quiet – at times. Most of our children live in this area, so we do see them quite often, apart from the youngest, Christopher, whose job takes him all over the world. Other family and friends live further away, but it’s nice that they keep in touch, and we try to visit each other whenever possible. I also have some close friends in this area, and we meet up regularly for coffer and the odd meal.

9.  What is one thing your family/friends do that annoys you?

I hate people to turn up late when I have a meal ready. I hate keeping food warm – just a fad of  mine.

10.  What is your favourite breakfast?

I have very simple tastes for breakfast. I very rarely have a cooked breakfast (as in bacon and eggs and such like) even on holiday. I like those foods, but not for breakfast! I generally have fruit, the type depending on what’s on offer, but at home it’s usually grapefruit or orange. Then I just love my porridge. I’ve been a porridge-lover since my mum made it when I was a child.

11.  What is the last movie that made you cry (hooked you enough to feel such emotions)?

I haven’t been to the cinema for years, or seen too many films on TV, as we tend to go for series or serials. I become emotionally involved  all too easily with characters in both books and films. So much so that I tend to get boxes of tissues thrown at me at the first hint of an emotional scene. The only films I can put names to right now are: TitanicPS I Love You, The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas and The Lovely Bones. I found the last two totally disturbing. Both really upset me.

Now for my questions for my nominees:

question-mark-213671_1280

  1. What is your favourite season /time of year and why?
  2. Were your schooldays really ‘the happiest years of your life’?
  3. Does your personality/character suit your sign of the zodiac? (Even if you don’t believe in all that stuff, I’m sure you’ll know which characteristics your star sign assigns to you.)
  4. Which is your preferred way of expressing yourself creatively? (Do you prefer the written word, photography, art, drama …or what?)
  5. Do you prefer to read an ebook (on tablet/Kindle) or the hard copy version?
  6. What is your favourite genre in books and what do you particularly like about that genre?
  7. Are you a thinker or a doer?
  8. Which type of holiday/vacation do you prefer (e.g. the beach, the mountains, skiing, fishing – or any other sport – sight-seeing etc.).
  9. Are you a morning person or a night owl?
  10. Coffee or tea for you – or neither?
  11. Another nice easy one to finish: do you have a favourite colour?

Here are my nominees:

Andy at Fife Photos and Art

Jay at J.C. Wolfe

L.T.Garvin

Morgan at The Secret Diary of a Computer Science Student

Chevvy at Chevvy’s Studio

Yinglan

Asealskhaki at randommusings

I now have 3 more award posts to fit in over the next couple of weeks, so I’ll leave my nominations at 7 for this one. Apologies to anyone I’ve nominated whose blog is award free. I have looked, and hope I haven’t missed anything obvious.

73 thoughts on “The Infinity Dreams Blog Award

    1. Thanks for accepting, Morgan. I had intended getting this up this afternoon, but the small matter of getting a meal prepared got in the way. It’s so inconvenient having to eat! 🙂

      1. Yes I do have this one. I’ve collected so many during my time blogging. 🙂 Your questions are so interesting, I just might do it.

  1. Interesting read! I don’t like pink clothes, either 😉 A young woman at a previous job always wore “ballerina pink” at work, from head to toe, and I just couldn’t grasp it… I wrote down that book you’d just read, always interested in adding to my (now unbearably long) to-read-list!

    1. Hi again. I’m glad you agree about pink – it’s just too fussy and feminine, especially when combined with frills and flouncy lace. The Miniaturist was recommended by a blogger I follow who does book reviews, and I enjoyed it.The reviews on Amazon are mixed, as always, but there are a lot of very high ratings. Her writing is very good, it’s the fantasy bit that some people don’t like, I think.
      Are you still not accepting blog awards? I always hesitate when considering you because I know you were undecided at one time. I have several more to write up, you see.

      1. I so agree about the frills and lace- combined with pink, yikes. Not for me. I decided not to do blog awards 🙂 But I still like reading them! Fantasy mixed with historical fiction sounds good. I just don’t seem to have any time to read anymore. But hopefully someday!

      2. I’m just reading your last post at the moment, so i won’t gabble for long. I had a feeling you were now award free, and I’m seriously considering that myself – after I’e done the next batch. Hope work isn’t getting you down… Aren’t you off to Paris soon?

      3. Yes, Paris in 2 weeks! 🙂 You’ve done so many awards, I wouldn’t wonder if you decided to go award free. But it’s nice to be popular though, isn’t it? 😉 And as I said, I love reading your awards posts. I’ve been pretty busy, I started studying internet marketing with a focus on tourism, it’s a one year course while working (in a different field, unfortunately). I feel like my concentration skills and attention span are getting worse each day… and yet I’m addicted to blogging 🙂 I admire you for keeping up your writing schedule! Though at some point you said you might be a bit late – but still, the fact that you have a story and you’re writing it is just so great!

      4. I’m really impressed that you’ve taken on extra study. It sounds right up your street, too. What better topic for you than tourism. I wouldn’t know where to start with internet marketing of anything! Best of luck with it all.
        Me, I’m trying so hard to fit everything in. I know I write long posts, so perhaps I ought to cut them down a bit. I just seem to get carried away once I get going. I’m missing the flash fiction, but can’t do it and focus on my own story at the same time. What a spree of knitting, baking and flash fiction writing I’ll have once this book is written!
        I’ll wish you a great time in Paris a little closer to the time you’re due to go. I hope you’ll post about it and put up some of your lovely photos. 😀

  2. Congratulations! Now I know lots more about you too! You sound like someone to know as a very good friend! I can imagine that you love Robin Hood because the place is kind of part of you! It is like going to Weta world where they create all those Hobbit stuff – very fascinating!

    1. Thank you, Ineke. I’d absolutely love to come to New Zealand, as I think I’ve said before. It’s on our list, so hopefully we’ll get there eventually and I can see Weta world for myself. 🙂

      1. New Zealand looks totally beautiful, even without the attraction of ‘The Hobbit’. You live in a lovely place, although I know you still love your homeland.

  3. It’s so good to learn more about people from the blogging world! It really helps put a real person behind the words to know a few things about them. I’m looking forward to hearing about your experiences in Italy, Millie, and hope you’ll post about them. My sister LOVED Sorrento and I’ve wanted to see Rome, Florence, Assisi and a few other places in the Central/North Central area. You have an impressive travel history!

    I cried during READING The Lovely Bones and found it disturbing as well.

    1. Oh Beth, I came out of the cinema after watching The Lovely Bones absolutely heartbroken. I couldn’t get it out of my mind for weeks. My daughter who came with me, felt the same.
      As for Sorento, it’s one of the loveliest places I’ve been to – and so close to Pompeii and Herculaneum – which we also visited. We could look out of our hotel room across the Bay of Naples and see Vesuvius. Quite awesome! I want to see all the places in Italy you have listed, too, but I think it will take more than one trip. Italy is just beautiful. I hope to post about all the places I visit, and I love to read other travel and/or history blogs. I really enjoyed your post, as you know. Thank you for your lovely comment. It’s always good to hear from you.

    1. Thank you, L.T. I really wasn’t sure whether you accepted award nominations. A lot of bloggers don’t. Sometimes they’re nice for other people to learn a little more about you. They are time consuming, I admit, but you don’t have to write long answers. I have a terrible habit of getting carried away! I’ll look forward to reading yours. Just link to me so I know you’ve posted (and there’s no rush – no time limit, as far as I’m aware.) 🙂

      1. Ha ha. I love your phraseology! I’ve spoken to quite a few writers on WP about being somewhat garrulous. It seems to be a common trait. 😀

    1. ‘Cooking’ is so different to baking, isn’t it? I had to cook Sunday roasts for eight of us (plus several family visitors at times) for many years, but I did that because I had to, not because I loved it. I can’t say I hated it, mind. But baking I love! I think it’s sort of creative. Besides, my six used to eat everything I baked before it even had time to cool. In all seriousness, sometimes I didn’t even get chance to ice or otherwise decorate cakes – especially when I made batches of little ones. Baking (and knitting) are therapeutic to me.
      Thank you, Hedgey. 🙂 (What name are you planning for next week?)

  4. Wonderful responses, thank you for sharing a bit of your life and congratulations on this well deserved tribute!

      1. I noticed the criteria was a little tough and time consuming…at any rate, you did a great job!

      2. Yes, this award asked for a lot of things – facts, questions, and writing questions for our own nominees. And if you’re like me, and can’t answer anything briefly, it takes quite some time. 🙂

      3. …it takes so much time. What can you do, and this one with 11 questions and 11 blogs to name to pass it to…I don’t know!

      1. I really don’t know how people want to spend their free time shopping!!! I find it stressful. Very stressful. And I never find what I want or need when I actually head out. And it makes it even worse…

      2. Oh, I know all those feelings so well. Most of all, I hate the crowds, all pushing and shoving. But I don’t enkjoy the actual act of shopping either. I dread clothes shopping because trying things on just takes up more time. 🙂

  5. What a lot of facts about you! I remember that Robin Hood version. Did it ever finish? I seem to remember it just stopped. Or was that the one where Robin Hood suddenly changed actors or something?

    1. The first Robin Hood (Michael Praed who played Robin of Loxley)) was killed, so that seemed like the end of the series. Then a new Robin came onto the scene for a new series (Jason Connery – son of Sean – who played Robert of Huntingdon). Both ‘Robins’ had their merits and the change was done so well. The second Robin was always a completely different character – a noble, whereas the first was a ‘peasant’. Now, after talking about all that, I’m going to have to fish out all those DVD’s and watch them again! Yes, the girls have left them all with us! 😀

  6. You are amassing many awards, Millie and well deserved. Although I picked up that you bake when you are bored, I don’t imagine that would happen very often.

    1. Thank you, Amanda.You’re right, I’m rarely bored nowadays! But I still love to bake. I’ll hop onto your last posts tomorrow, Amanda. This week has been a bit hectic with family visits. Lovely … but I seem to have seen little else other than the kitchen. 🙂

  7. Congratulations on another award, Millie! And how wonderful that you gave such thorough and interesting answers — it’s so nice to learn more about you! (By the way, I don’t like to wear pink either.)

    1. Thanks, Joy. I do get a bit carried away with my answers. I have a few more award posts to catch up on, so I hope you’re happy to be nominated.:D I’m glad you agree about pink clothes … far too feminine and little girly for me!

      1. I don’t think you get carried away at all, seems like just the right length to me! (Says the woman who writes the longest emails of anyone she knows…)

      2. I don’t suppose either of us can help it if we just have a lot to say! Lou tells me you’re doing NaNo – so have a great month writing! I’ll be nominating you for a blog award later on, but it can sit there until you’re ready to do it (if you accept it, that is). Have fun with NaNo. 🙂

      3. Thanks! Yes, I’m going to be cutting back on just about everything this month while I focus on NaNo, especially blog posts. But I’ll keep checking in periodically — don’t want to fall completely out of touch with the rest of the world!

  8. Millie,my Dear – thank you for awarding me this honor and I can see how well you’ve done with awards. I can see it’s also a great way for people to know you better. While I would love to accept this award, I have a number I’ve not been able to attend to so I’m afraid I’ll have to give this one a pass. Thanks again though for thinking of me. Best. Chevvy.

    1. That is all so understandable, Chevvy, and there’s no need for apologies at all. Award posts are time consuming and not something everyone wants to do. I always make a point of apologising in advance to anyone I nominated whose blog is award free. Have a lovely weekend. Millie

      1. Thanks for understanding Millie. It’s hard enough keeping the balance between blogging, family, work and other obligations.You have a great one too with your visitors:-) Chevvy

    1. Thanks, Susan. I have another three award posts to do over the next couple of weeks, so I’ll be nominating you at some stage – if you’re still happy to accept awards. 🙂

  9. Congrats Millie. 🙂 Blue is my mom’s fav colour. As a kid I had plenty of blue coloured frocks and even my school bag and other things were in blue. I got so fed up of it that I started hating it. Not a big fan of pink either. I always disliked it for being too soft.

    1. Yes, pink’s a colour that women seem to love or hate to wear. Like you, I feel it’s too soft and feminine for my tastes. I do like a lot of colours, for different things, but blue and green are the ‘earth’ colours, and I just love the natural world. Thanks, Norma. 🙂 I still have 3 more award posts to write, so beware… I’ll probabaly do one of them later on next week.

      1. Blue has bored me, I think, but I seem to choose any shade of green most of the times. I recently purchased a green leather bag. I don’t know why, I normally buy brown or black when it comes to handbags. I have quite a few green t-shirts too. Although I love all the colours but my favourite is white. 🙂
        Awards! Exciting. 🙂
        It has been a long time since I’ve written something so I’m just getting back in the groove. Hope to see you more Millie. 🙂

      2. White is lovely to wear on a hot day, which you’ll know about far more than I do! I only have brown and black bags, too, and think I’ll have to break out of my shell and buy something far more colourful, perhaps for Christmas or something.
        The next award I’ll post is the Sisterhood of Bloggers one. I hope to have it up in the next day or two.
        I won’t be on my blog very often for a while, Norma. I’m getting these awards done – and another 3 quote challenge – then I’ll just be doing odd posts for a while. I’m missing flash fiction like mad, but it will have to wait. Anyway, I’m glad you’re back in the groove! Happy blogging! 🙂

      3. Sisterhood – of course, we are. 🙂
        I was about to buy a peach colour bag but bought the green one instead. I like it, but have carried it only once or twice.
        I wish you all the best with your book and writing, Millie.:) I can understand, but that, what needs attention needs to be done first, isn’t it? You know we all will miss your short break from your blog.
        It’s very difficult to not be carried away when those photos call out to you and say, “Hey! don’t you want to tell my story.” 🙂

      4. Thank you for all your kind words, Norma. Flash fiction should come with a health warning: ‘Once started, this activity is highly addictive’! 🙂

      5. I know 🙂 Once I got used to it I found it very hard to stay away from it. I would come home tired and looking at the photo would want to write something but with a tired mind and body would just go off to sleep.
        Now it is reduced to – no contribution – but soon I would start participating. 🙂

    1. Robin Hood’s a great favourite in our house – has been since all the children were young. We’ve spent many happy days in Sherwood Forest, where the great Major Oak is. The children always collected tree branches for making bows. I think Robin is popular all over the country though. After all, the stories about him are some of the most exciting and well known of our folk tales and legends.

  10. I don’t like high heels, too. I have a couple of pairs with 2″ heels for more formal occasions. But I’d be happy to live in sandals all year. 🙂

    1. Two inches would be my limit, too, Sharifah. How anyone can feel comfortable in stilettos is beyond me! Like you, sandals are my all time favourite, but we have so few months in which to wear them here in the U.K. 🙂

  11. Congratulations Millie! 🙂 Good to know more about you through all these questions and answers. Interesting to know you hate most seafood! I actually like shrimps the most, but I do understand why it reminds you of snails. Blue is my favorite color as well.I used to hate pink clothes the most in the past. But now I’m completely ok with it as long as I like the design of it. I can’t really handle high heels. I only wear it for special occasions. Sandals are always my fav as they are very comfortable to walk in ❤

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.