Word of the Week (WOW) – Duplicity

wow

Word of the Week (WOW) is a weekly meme created by Heena Rathore P. It’s a fun way to improve vocabulary by learning new words every week.

To participate, simply do a post with your word and leave the link to as a comment on Heena’s WOW post.

Here is my WOW for this week:

duplicity

Word: Duplicity

Part of Speech:  Noun

Adjective: duplicitous

Plural: duplicities

Nearby Words:

duplicate, duplicating, duplication, duplicator,duplicature, duplicatus

 Pronunciation:

UK: due-plic-i-tee (dyu-plic-i-tee)

US: du-plic-i-ty (doo-plic-i-tee)

 Meaning:

1. Deliberate deceptiveness in behaviour or speech (especially by saying different things to two people).

2. An instance of deliberate deceptiveness; double dealing

3. The quality or state of being twofold or double

Synonyms:  

cunning, deceit, deceitfulness, deception, double-dealing, guile, shiftiness, dissimulation, fraud, hypocrisy

Antonyms:

candidness, directness, honesty, straightforwardness

Word Origin:  

1400-50 Late Middle English fron the Middle French duplicite. The roots of the word can be found in the Late Latin word, duplicatas and duplex.  The most common sense of duplicity today is deceitfulnessThe roots of this meaning can be found in the initial  ‘dupl’ – from the Latin duplex, meaning twofold, or double.

Use in a sentence: 

1. Martha was not a woman for compromise or duplicity.

2. The salesman was not averse to a little duplicity in his dealings with customers.

*

I particularly like the adjective of this word: duplicitous. I have a few duplicitous characters in my books. I also use the word perfidious, which can also be a synonym of duplicitous (but has other meanings as well, including unfaithful and treasonous). To me, both duplicitous and perfidious sound so much more interesting than just saying deceitful.

 *

shutterstock_128368295

If you would like to check out more interesting words then visit Heena’s page:

Word Treasure

13 thoughts on “Word of the Week (WOW) – Duplicity

    1. I love word origins in particular. Etymology fascinates me. I’m intending to go through the alphabet with these, so I’ll be thinking of something for ‘e’ next. I’ll try to find a more interesting word than this one. Thanks for the nice comment, Heath. 🙂

    1. I like doing this challenge because I love words in general. If you weren’t already so busy you could have a go, too. I know Heena would love a few more people to join in. Thank you for the nice comment. 🙂

  1. (WOW) is always what I look forward as I know I’ll be learning some new and interesting. Good to how different duplicity pronounces in UK and US. Good job Millie! 😉

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.