Why Was King Alfred So Great?

I thought I’d share this Guest Post, so kindly posted by Jason, theopinionatedman, on his blog, Harsh Reality. Thank you, Jason! As one of the two main characters in my trilogy, I’ve lived with King Alfred for a few years now and decided to write a little about his ‘greatness’. So here it is…

HarsH ReaLiTy

Once again I want to thank Jason for inviting me to Guest Post on his blog. Jason does so much to help authors promote their work and I know we all really appreciate it.

King_Alfred_(The_Great) Portrait of Alfred the Great from the 19th century. Author: Founder of Oriel College, after a painting in the Bodleian Library in Oxford by an English School. Public Domain.

King Alfred the Great is one of the two protagonists in my Sons of Kings trilogy. I first became interested in his story when I lived and taught in Wantage, his place of birth, for six years in the 1970s. The story of his long fight against the invading Danes had intrigued me even before I moved to the town, and in Wantage I learnt so much more about him. Unfortunately, it was to be many more years before I could actually set to and write about…

View original post 1,066 more words

About milliethom

I am a reader and writer of historical fiction with a keen interest in the Earth's history and all it involves, both physically and socially. I like nothing better than to be outdoors, especially in faraway places, and baking is something I do when my eyes need respite from my computer screen.
Gallery | This entry was posted in Travel and History and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Why Was King Alfred So Great?

  1. Joy Pixley says:

    Another great post that taught me more history — thanks, Millie! Fumy, the first few times I saw this post title, I thought it said, “Was King Alfred so Great?” It reminds me that all of those sobriquets are up for debate. Who is really brave. or just, or fair, etc, except that someone said it often enough about this particular person until that label stuck, above all others? Fascinating stuff.

    Also, I’d never heard of the burnt cakes or the spider in the cave. What odd.little pieces of folklore!

  2. Antonia says:

    Congratulations on the guest post Millie! I have never thought about how many men have been given that title. It was interesting to learn more about King Alfred and why he is one of the few.

  3. I love the history and thanks so much for sharing it!! When things settle down I must read more and your sons of kings trilogy!!

  4. inesephoto says:

    Another wonderful post, Millie! I always learn something amazing from your posts and from your books. Thank you so much for this delightful read.

Leave a Reply

