Word of the Week (WOW) – Redolent

wow

Word of the Week (WOW) is a weekly challenge created by Heena Rathore P. It’s a fun way to improve vocabulary by learning new words every week.

To participate, simply do a post with your word and leave the link as a comment on Heena’s WOW post for this week (above link). Illustrations are by no means necessary, but it’s up to you.

I’m up to the letter R this week. I started off by just choosing a word at random (perspicacious). Since then, I’ve been working through the alphabet, so I’ll be looking for a good word beginning with next week.

So, here is my WOW for this week:

redolent

 Word: 

Redolent

Pronunciation:

red·o·lent  (rɛdəʊlənt)

Audio link: Click here

Part of Speech:

Adjective

[Noun: red·o·lence, red·o·len·cy.  Adverb: red·o·lent·ly]

 Meaning:

1.Having a pleasant smell; fragrant e.g. a  deep, rich, redolent wine 

399px-Syrah_from_Sicily

Syrah wine from Sicily. Pixabay

2. Odorous or smelling (usually followed by of) e.g. a room, redolent of furniture polish

3. Suggestive; reminiscent (usually followed by of or with) e.g. a portrait redolent of the nineteenth century 

800px-John_Constable_The_Hay_Wain

The Hay Wain by John Constable. 1821. Now in the National Gallery. Public Domain

Synonyms:

1. odorous, aromatic, odoriferous, ambrosial, aromatic, perfumed, fragrant, savoury (savory) scented, sweet, pleasant -smelling

2. (serving to bring to mind): evocative, remindful, reminiscent, resonant

Antonyms:

fetid, foul, malodorous, noisome, putrid, rancid, rank, reek, reeking, skunky, smelly, stenchful, stinking, stinky, strong

Word Origin

C14: from Latin redolens smelling (of), from redolēre to give off an odour, from red- re + olēre to smell

Use in a Sentence:

1. The chapter Margaret was reading was a sad one, redolent of regret and lost causes.

shutterstock_95148265

2. The forest path was redolent with the scent of pine needles.

Pine woods at Holkham Meals Reach. geograh.org.uk Attribution: Zorba the Greek. Wikimedia Commons

Pine woods at Holkham Meals Reach. geograh.org.uk Attribution: Zorba the Greek. Wikimedia Commons

3. (Noun use): The farmhouse kitchen was filled with the redolence of freshly baked bread.

Reconstruction_of_a_farmhouse_kitchen_in_the_Wensleydale_Creamery_Visitor_Centre_-_geograph.org.uk_-_348302 (1)

Farmhouse kitchen at Wensleydale Creamery. geog.org.uk. Attribtion: Ken Walton

If you’d like to see more interesting words, visit Heena’s page:

Word Treasure

About milliethom

I am a reader and writer of historical fiction with a keen interest in the Earth's history and all it involves, both physically and socially. I like nothing better than to be outdoors, especially in faraway places, and baking is something I do when my eyes need respite from my computer screen.
This entry was posted in Word of the Week (WOW) and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Word of the Week (WOW) – Redolent

  1. Thanksgiving day, or senior prom, or honeymoon night! Redolent! 😉

  2. scrapydotwo says:

    Thank you for this word I might use it next time when talking about an aroma or smell. 😀

  3. Galit Balli says:

    Nice word Millie 🙂

  4. I of July says:

    nice… esp in context of the wine reference 🙂

    • milliethom says:

      I should have known that one would appeal to you. 🙂 I’ve read so many references to wine in your excellent poems, I’m already convinced you rather like the stuff! And why not, I ask…? Thanks, Heath. 😀

  5. I think I really like this word Millie. That’s a new one for me. You showed it well too and I am going to use it in my next story. 🙂

  6. exiledprospero says:

    Un léger parfum. Ah yes, parfum will be a great ‘P’ word, should you decide to begin a sister site, in French, compiling a whole new catalog of sonorous words.

    • milliethom says:

      A light perfume? Yes, parfum is a great word, but a sisiter site might be taking things a bit too far… especially in French! lol 🙂 A sentence with ‘a light perfume in it might be:
      ‘The evening air was redolent with the light perfume of honeysuckle.’
      or:
      ‘The empty room was redolent with Matilde’s light perfume.’
      I like the word sonorous – and I’m doing ‘s’ next week! 😀

      • exiledprospero says:

        Sonorous. Check with Heena. She may steal your quixotic thunder, again.

      • milliethom says:

        Oh dear, I hope she doesn’t. 😦 I usually wait until Heena has put her post up, just so I can add the link to mine to it. I’d be best to check, as you say. 🙂

  7. Bekki Hill says:

    Laughing at myself here, because I get excited every time I see your word of the week post is up. Feeling bit ‘meh’ about redolent – maybe because it doesn’t sound to me like it should mean what it does?

  8. Sharifah says:

    I’ve always liked this word, too. 🙂 I like its lyrical quality, and I think it also adds a rhythm when used in a sentence.

Leave a Reply

