The Best Clown Ever – Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

Flash Fiction for for Aspiring Writers is a writing challenge, kindly hosted by Priceless Joy. The challenge asks us to write a piece of fiction from the photo prompt provided in around 100- 150 words – give or take 25 words. It encourages participants to comment, constructively, on other entries, so supporting each other’s writing. If you’d like to join in with this challenge, follow the link in the title of PJ’s, blog: Beautiful Words to see what to do. The challenge runs from Wednesday to Wednesday every week.

Here is this week’s prompt . . .

wpid-photo-20150331205503052

. . . and this is my story:

Marvin stared at the mirror, considering his hollow cheeks, the deep lines about his sunken eyes. Gambling had brought him to this: a sad excuse for a man.

Jobless and penniless, scorned by his long-suffering wife, Marvin had taken the only job to come along. The Circus had come to town.

‘On in twenty, Marv, after the sea lions,’ the stable lad called, rapping at the caravan door.

Marvin applied foundation to brighten his skin, topped by vivid lines of coloured paint and a red horn nose. His ginger wig, chequered suit and oversized shoes completed the look.

His act had the audience enthralled. He juggled and cavorted and honked his big red nose. He laughed and applauded as much as they …

As he left the Big Top, a woman and two small boys stepped into his path. ‘I’m proud of you, Marvin,’ Susan said. ‘You make the best clown ever.’

Rivulets of tears streaked Marvin’s carefully painted face. But then he smiled.

‘Yes, I do, don’t I?’

*

If you’d like to view other entries, click here.

About milliethom

I am a reader and writer of historical fiction with a keen interest in the Earth's history and all it involves, both physically and socially. I like nothing better than to be outdoors, especially in faraway places, and baking is something I do when my eyes need respite from my computer screen.
This entry was posted in Flash Fiction and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to The Best Clown Ever – Flash Fiction for Aspiring Writers

  1. Lovely Millie, a happy ending to a clown story, enjoyed it.

  2. I loved that Millie! He seemed to have hit bottom and yet, put on a brave “clown” face only to be met with love and forgiveness. (I’m assuming Susan is his wife). This story is wonderful. 🙂 (I’m glad you went for the happy ending).

  3. Francesca Smith says:

    A wonderfully heart warming tale!
    I am glad it has a happy ending.

  4. Sonya says:

    Can’t believe I’m about to say this about a clown story: It’s quite touching. Maybe he even found his calling?

    • milliethom says:

      It would seem that way. I’m not a lover of clowns, either. In fact, I’ve hated them since I was a child. But I supppose come clowns are actually nice! Thakns, Sonya. 🙂

  5. luckyjc007 says:

    A very touching story, with a heartwarming ending. It’s good to see he was given reason to smile, after working so hard making others smile.

  6. Creatopath says:

    Hi picked himself up and did his best. I liked the happy ending too.

    • milliethom says:

      That’s exactly what I wanted to show, so you’re spot on, Jessie. Thank you! 🙂

      • Creatopath says:

        Hi Millie, it’s Rachel 🙂

      • milliethom says:

        Oops! I know very well you’re Rachel, so I need my wrist slapping for that! I’d just been commenting on Jessie’s post and it was the end of a long day of travelling up to Newcastle and back. Well, that’s my excuse, and I’m sticking to it. (It is true, by the way – although no excuse for giving you the wrong name.) Many apologies … I’ll go and stand in the corner for half an hour now. 🙂

      • Creatopath says:

        No probs! No need to stand in the corner! After reading so many stories I get confused too and have to keep scrolling to the top to see which blog I’m on.

  7. Aww this touching story got me tearful! I’m glad he had taken the job and made the best clown. I’m so proud of him and I’m sure his wife feels the same 😉 Wonderful story Millie! ❤

  8. Tastyniblets says:

    Love this take on the prompt Millie – I was playing with a similar idea myself but you beat me to it! great job 🙂

    • milliethom says:

      Oh dear. It often happens that people have similar ideas for these prompts. I’m sure if you’d worked on this idea, it would still have been different to mine. We all write differently, which makes reading these stories so much fun. Thank you, Az. 🙂

  9. Happy endings are my favorite. So well done.

  10. scrapydotwo says:

    Glad he got something to keep his body and mind together and also some food and place to rest his tired body. Clowns do not always have to be sad.

    • milliethom says:

      No, they don’t. I’m sure some are good guys, and happy, too. They’ve just has seriously bad press over the years. Funny, though – I never liked clowns myself, even when I was a child. I just wanted to watch the horses and the trapeze artists when my parents took us to the circus. 🙂

      • scrapydotwo says:

        Me too, the animals and their tricks and the trapeze artist were always my favorites.

  11. M says:

    Someone’s gotta love the clowns right?
    They get so much bad rap… =) Well done.

    • milliethom says:

      Thank you, M. 🙂 Clowns aren’t the most popular of characters, are they? I don’t like them myself, but thought I’d give this one a happy ending. My good deed for the day! 🙂

  12. Ameena k.g says:

    Awww, a happy ending to a wonderful story. I was the xpecting that ending at all, but I loved it!

Leave a Reply

