Word of the Week (WOW) – Ethereal

wow

Word of the Week (WOW) is a weekly meme created by Heena Rathore P. It’s a fun way to improve vocabulary by learning new words every week.

To participate, simply do a post with your word and leave the link to it as a comment on Heena’s WOW post.

Here is my WOW for this week:

ethereal

Word: Ethereal

Part of Speech:  Adjective

(Adverb: ethereally.  Noun: ethereality; etherealness)

 Pronunciation:  e – the – re -al     (ih – theer – ee – uh – l)

 Meaning:

1. Extremely light or delicate, especially in  an unnatural way; refined

2. Of the celestial spheres; heavenly

3. Relating to, containing, or resembling a chemical ether

Synonyms:  

1. ghostly, vaporous, wraithlike, waiflike, bodiless, fragile, frail, intangible, immaterial, incorporeal, diaphonous, non-physical

2. spiritual, sublime, divine, holy, Elysian, unearthly, otherworldly

Antonyms:

Substantial, earthly, worldy, corporeal, concrete, tangible, material

Word Origin:   

First documented use in English 1505-15 >  Latin aethere (us) > Greek aithérios 

Use in a sentence: 

1. Sarah gazed at the ethereal wings of a dragonfly.

shutterstock_112399145

2. Beyond the stars is the ethereal realm of the divine. (As in fantasy, mythology etc.)

shutterstock_174494771

3. Deborah was small, fair and ethereal.

4. The stained-glass windows gave the church an ethereal glow

*

Note. This word is not to be confused with ephemeral, which means transitory or short- lived – like a mayfly. I like both words and the ways in which they can be used.

  If you would like to check out more interesting words then visit Heena’s page:

Word Treasure

About milliethom

I am a reader and writer of historical fiction with a keen interest in the Earth's history and all it involves, both physically and socially. I like nothing better than to be outdoors, especially in faraway places, and baking is something I do when my eyes need respite from my computer screen.
This entry was posted in Word of the Week (WOW) and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Word of the Week (WOW) – Ethereal

  1. amommasview says:

    And I just learned a new word 🙂

  2. Wonderful post and interesting!

  3. scrapydotwo says:

    Thanks for explanation en illustration too. I think I can learn a lot from these words because my vocabulary is very slim!

    • milliethom says:

      If it helps your vocabulary Scrapydo, then I’m happy. I agree that ‘Woof’ and ‘Grrrr’ could be construed as a ‘slim’ vocabulary. 🙂

      • scrapydotwo says:

        Imagination helps for those words. Scnauzers are also known for a whole wide vocabulary range! Ha ha

  4. I thoroughly enjoy these WOW posts!

    • milliethom says:

      That’s good to know, Ashley. Thank you. I enjoy doing them. Words are fascinating things and I like playing around with them . Whereas, numbers and me are rarely on speaking terms! 🙂

  5. Another interesting word added to my mind 😉 Thank you so much Millie! ❤

  6. Such a great word Millie! I’ve always loved the feel this word has. I’ve come across it a lot and it was a great choice on your part to have it for WOW!
    Thanks 🙂

  7. irinadim says:

    Great post , Millie! I love the word ‘ethereal’ and spiders, too, except for the poisonous red-back spider and the deadly funnel web.

  8. Christy B says:

    Such an interesting word! I LOOOOOVE language 🙂

Leave a Reply

