Word Of The Week (WOW) – Perspicacious

wow

Word of the Week (WOW) is a weekly meme created by Heena Rathore P. It’s a fun way to improve vocabulary by learning new words every week.

To participate, simply do a post with your word and leave the link to your post as a comment on Heena’s WOW post.

Here is my WOW for this week:

perspicacious

Word: Perspicacious

Part of Speech: Adjective

(Adverb: Perspicaciously; Noun: Perspicaciousness)

Pronunciation: Per-spi –ca -cious (pur – spi -key – shuhs)

Meaning:   Acutely insightful or wise.

Quick in noticing, understanding or judging things accurately

Synonyms:

Perceptive, aware, sharp, keen, acute, alert, penetrating, shrewd, discerning, astute, observant, clear-sighted, percipient, sharp-witted, sagacious

Antonyms:

dull, stupid

Word Origin: 1630’s, formed as an adjective to the Latin perspicax, from perspicere: sharp sighted, having the power to see through

Use in a sentence: 

1. The lawyer was much too perspicacious to be taken in by the spurious document.

2. The event offered a number of interesting facts to the perspicacious reporter.

I rather like this word.  It adds a little more interest to a sentence than just saying smart or sharp, or even wise – in the right setting of course. It wouldn’t suit on every occasion.

If you want to check out more words like this, then visit Heena’s page: Word Treasure.

Have a fun day.

About milliethom

I am a reader and writer of historical fiction with a keen interest in the Earth's history and all it involves, both physically and socially. I like nothing better than to be outdoors, especially in faraway places, and baking is something I do when my eyes need respite from my computer screen.
This entry was posted in Word of the Week (WOW) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Word Of The Week (WOW) – Perspicacious

  1. Claps! 🙂
    Great word Millie! I’m surely gonna use it while writing my first short story (if it can be used!) You’ve done the post wonderfully 🙂
    Thanks for participating in WOW meme! 😀

  2. I think you are quite a perspicacious woman yourself. 🙂 Wow to you Millie! A great word!

  3. Wonderful word! 😉 Thank you for choosing “perspicacious” for WOW! I wouldn’t know what it means if you didn’t mention it here. It helps who speaks English as a second language (I’m one of them) 😉

    • milliethom says:

      You speak English incredibly well! Most British people are very lazy when it comes to learning other languages. I suppose it’s simply because English is spoken in so many countries worldwide. French is taught as our second language and it’s most schoolkid’s worst lesson! You do wonderfully! 🙂

  4. Thank you for your informative post. Although perspicacious is a word I may use only once in my lifetime, I have filed its meaning with it. I’ll be sure to know what it means when the time comes.

    • milliethom says:

      I agree. It’s not a word for everyday use. Only a very stuffy person would do so, perhaps! It just popped into my head when I was trying to think of something a little unusual for Heena’s blog. Thank you for sharing your thoughts, Judith Much appreciated. 🙂

  5. scribbley14 says:

    Ooh I’m glad this is a thing! I love finding out new words, especially their origins- looking forward to learning some more ☺

  6. I’m sure many folk have never comes across this word…

    Yet, I’m quite familiar with it because of my spiritual studies…

    • milliethom says:

      I don’t remember where I first came across it – just in general reading I think. I quite like the sound of it but it does still retain a slightly archaic sound. I don’t think it’s a word for everyday use. The setting would have to be just right. I imagine it would feature in spiritual studies. Thank you for that, Alexander.

  7. I of July says:

    had never come across that one 🙂 thanks

    • milliethom says:

      Thank you for liking it, Heath, although can’t believe you can’t quote every word in the dictionary! You have an amazingly extensive vocabulary – as all your lovely poems illustrate. 🙂

  8. This word of the week is such a wonderful idea!!

    • milliethom says:

      I loved doing my WOW posts all last year. I’m up to J on my second time through the alphabet but I haven’t had time to do a post for ages. I started with Perspicacious, then decided it would be better to work through the alphabet and add illustrations, too. I’ll get back to them once Book 3 is finished. Thank you for liking the WOW idea! 🙂

Leave a Reply

