Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

wpid-wp-1416654845746

Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award is an award that recognises the unique voices of women across the world and I feel quite overwhelmed at having been nominated for it. My blog is relatively ‘young’, and I don’t publish as many posts as I would like to due to my writing commitments. So, I feel doubly honoured by this. The lovely lady who nominated me is Hardi Goradia. Her blog, Fifty Shades of Reality is excellent, every post extremely informative, thought provoking and deserving of every praise.

These are the five rules to follow:

1. Thank the blogger who nominated you, linking back to their site.

2. Put the Award logo on your blog.

3. Answer the ten questions sent to you.

4. Make up ten new questions for your nominees to answer.

5. Nominate seven blogs.

These are my answers to Hardi’s questions:

1.  What keeps you going?

Life keeps me going; the sheer joy of just being able to enjoy the wonderful things that life can offer in the company of my family. I’ve spent many years of my life bringing up our six wonderful children and teaching until a few years ago. Now I’m writing the books I’ve had on hold for so long, and am enjoying every minute of it. I’m just about to start my third!

2.  What is more important to you, money or happiness?

I don’t need to think too hard about the answer to this one – happiness is more important to me than money. I know that’s easy to say when I’m not one of the millions of people worldwide who live in poverty and don’t even know where their next meal is coming from. But, without getting deeply into that issue, all I can say is that I’m thankful to be able to have a healthy and happy life, and know I am privileged in that.  And I don’t need lots of money to stay happy.

3.  Who is the one person to whom you can open your heart, share your           deepest sorrows as well as your greatest moments?

I have been married for 44 years and throughout that time my husband has been my soul mate. We are fortunate to have a marriage that has lasted through the years – which I think is partly because we are not afraid of talking about things, whether they be worries or delights. Sharing thoughts and feelings is part and parcel of mutual trust and friendship which, to me, are integral parts of a strong marriage.

4.  If you could go back in time, which age would you prefer, and why?

The two books I’ve written are set in the Anglo Saxon /Viking lands in the 9th century,  so naturally, I love that period. But I adore history in general and wouldn’t object to going back to a number of periods. Yet, that is all I would want to do – just have a ‘look’.  I know, without doubt, that I’d not want to actually stay in any period prior to the one I live in now! I’m afraid I’m rather partial to all the technological and medical advances we now enjoy. Yes, I know that the environment was better before industrialisation and the population explosion and so on. But life was extremely hard and life expectancy very short, so the past will never tempt me to return to it permanently. If I could borrow Dr. Who’s Tardis I would be supremely happy.

5.  What are the qualities you look for in a life partner?

I can only answer this question with hindsight as I’ve had a life partner for 44 years. (see Q.3 above!). I admit, when we married, I didn’t think too deeply about such qualities. I suppose we just ‘got on’ and understood each other so well that the qualities I wanted were just there. In the 44 years since that time, Nick has proved to be excellent at many of the things I’m useless at, and vice versa. He is superb at DIY, mending all things mechanical, electrical or otherwise. In other words, all the things I’m good at breaking! Whereas, I’m a mum. I miss our children around the place, even now. I love to cook and bake, and do all the other mumsy things. Nick does all the gardening. . . I won’t go on. I’ll just sum up by saying that we complement each other.

6.  What makes you think you are different to most others? 

I don’t believe myself to be intrisically different to anyone else. The  entire human race shares the same physical needs for survival, health and so on. But every person is also an individual. Unique. So I suppose I’ll have to think of something that makes me unique. Oh dear . . . I believe that a person’s ‘uniqueness’ is due to their particular combination of characteristics. So what are some of the ‘characteristics’ that constitute me? Firstly, I’m a strange mix of Arts and Sciences. My degree and main teaching subjects are sciences – which I do love. Geology/Earth Sciences fascinate me. But, on the other hand, I also veer towards the Arts. I sudied English Literature to a high level and have attended Creative Writing classes. Other than this, I can’t really think of a great deal. I know some people think I’m crazy to have had six children, and some people (i.e. my two daughters!) think I’m a complete ‘Ditz’ at times. I do seem to break everything I touch and fall over my own feet – but surely, that doesn’t make me a Ditz  . . . does it?

7. Which one electronic device could you not do without?

This is an easy one for me to answer. As a writer, I couldn’t cope without my laptop. But come to think of it, I’d die without my egg timer . . .!

8. What are you expecting out of this blog?

I started a blog because everyone advised me that, as a writer, I really should have one. So, I started in July, not really knowing how things on WordPress worked – and just kept going. I’ve come to absolutely love talking to people all over the world. Everyone is so friendly, it seems just like talking to old friends. As for my writing, I don’t ‘push’ information about my books – rightly or wrongly, I don’t know. I’m just enjoying connecting with people at the moment.

9. What do you miss most about your childhood?

This is another quick one for me to answer. I miss my mum and dad. I had a really happy childhood, with wonderful, caring parents and, although they both passed away many years ago, I still think of them often. I also loved living in Southport. I do miss the sea. Perhaps that’s why I write Viking books!

10.  Who is the one person with whom you’ve had most memories? Also mention those memories.

Having been married for so long (two-thirds of my life, in fact) the only answer to this can be my husband. We share so many memories – of the children growing up and the amazing Christmases we had when he and I would be up all night on Chritsmas Eve playing at being Father Christmas. I remember one such night in particular, when our eldest daughter, then six, wanted a desk. My husband – thinking he could make her a better one than any one we could buy – was still making the thing within an hour of the four children we had at that time coming downstairs. How we survived the sleepless nights, I don’t know.

So, here are my nominees:

1.  Tribalmystic

2.  Elsa Holland

3.  Heena Rathore P

4.  ChristineR

5.  Glaiza Binayas

6.  RobinLK

7. Julia Manuel

Here are my questions for the nominees:

1. What do you like best about blogging?

2. If you could visit any place in the world, where would that place be and why?

3. If you could change one thing about your life, what would it be?

4. List 3 things that you are proud of doing / having done.

5. What was your favourite subject at school, and why did it appeal so much?

6. Is there any particular environmental issue that causes you concern?

7. What is your favourite childhood memory?

8. Who is your favourite character in a novel or film and why do you like them so much?

9. What is your greatest ambition in life?

10. What is the biggest compliment you have ever had?

I have chosen these blogs because I really enjoy reading them, and connecting with the lovely people who write them.

About milliethom

I am a reader and writer of historical fiction with a keen interest in the Earth's history and all it involves, both physically and socially. I like nothing better than to be outdoors, especially in faraway places, and baking is something I do when my eyes need respite from my computer screen.
This entry was posted in Blog Award and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

  1. Thank you so much, Millie! I really appreciate it. 🙂

  2. Congratulations! That is so wonderful that you have achieved another award Millie and thank you so much for nominating my blog. That was very kind of you.

  3. maddmombetty says:

    Big Congrats! You deserve it! I love your blog!

  4. Congratulations on receiving the Award 🙂

  5. ChristineR says:

    Thanks Millie, I’m flattered by your nomination. I’ll ponder on the questions, but I think I’ll have trouble coming up with three accomplishments I’m proud of – isn’t that just pitiful! 😀

    • milliethom says:

      If you can think of just one, I’m sure that will be fine. I don’t think the questions are intended to be too restricting. Just say as much or as little as you like. You could simply say you can’t think of anything!

  6. Elsa Holland says:

    Thank you Millie XXOX I am very complimented ❤

    Being a romance writer I so love that you have been married for 44 years & that your husband is your soul mate!!! ❤ Beautiful!!

  7. Julia Manuel says:

    Millie…you doll, you peach…Thank you so much. This means so much to me…I’m so moved! My response post will ensue sometime this evening ☺ and many thanks for the leads to new bloggers! They’re wonderful & have followed. Also such a treat to learn more about you 💜

    • milliethom says:

      To think I was so worried about re-contacting you about it! I thought you just didn’t want to do it – especially at this time of year. Your post can wait until after Christmas, though, if you’re pushed for time. Not everyone does them quickly. I’m so glad you’ve accepted! Happy Christmas to you and your family.

      • Julia Manuel says:

        Aw god love you. I’m delighted & grateful you did! Truly a special mention especially coming from you 💜 will all your children be with you for xmas this year?

      • milliethom says:

        Yes! Plus partners and grandchildren. I’ll be lucky if I make it out of the kitchen! I love it all, of course. Besides, it’s one of the few times of the year when I can actually see them all together. All but one lives close by, but our youngest son, lives and works in London. Can’t wait for him to get here tomorrow. They keep me young! Haha.

      • Julia Manuel says:

        Awww I’m so pleased for you! I’m an only child so I think quite alot of large families ☺ my favorite holiday movie is The Family Stone with Diane Keaton…do check it out sometime

  8. RobinLK says:

    Millie,
    I’m a week+ behind in my reading and just saw your comment tonight.

    Thank you so much for nominating me! I’m honored and look forward to crafting answers to your questions. In fact, I have ‘one day’ (yes, just one) of downtime coming up later this week, in which I will chat with my laptop. Reading through your answers brought a big smile to my face. I’ve been blogging on/off since 2009, and have made many wonderful ‘friends’ around the world as a result. It’s funny just how ‘small’ the blogosphere can make us. I love that aspect of it, definitely. BIG hugs from the USA, and cheers to a wonderful holiday season!

    • milliethom says:

      Yes, you are such an experience blogger, especially compared to me! I love your blog – it’s hilarious. I’m so glad you accepted the nomination, although I’m sorry to hear you only have one free day this week. You shouldn’t be so popular! I’m already finding blogging amazing and fellow bloggers lovely. Reciprocal cheers and hugs to you from the U.K. Have a wonderful Christmas.

  9. Congrats 🙂
    And also thanks 😀

Leave a Reply

